This is the "Home" page of the "Library @ Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library @ Home  

Learn how to access Library resources and services 24 hours a day from any computer or device with an Internet connection.
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2016 URL: http://libguides.southseattle.edu/athome Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library @ Home

Is much of your research and studying done off campus?  Did you know that you can access Library resources and services 24 hours a day from any computer or device with an Internet connection? 

The Library provides access to a variety of resources including books, reference material, online resources, databases, magazines and multimedia. Librarians are available to help you with your research and information needs.

Many of our library resources are accessible off campus via the Internet. Visit our web site to access databases, e-books and 24/7 chat or email assistance from reference librarians. Most resources require you to login with your last name and student ID.

 

Library Catalog - EBooks

The Library’s catalog is available online. Go to the library website, and click on Books, Audio and Video to search the library holdings at SSC, SCC, and NSC. There are about 206,000 items in the system, with around 62,200 items belonging to the South Campus Library. Our students may check out books from the circulating collections of all three campuses. If the book you need is at another campus, use the Request Item link to place a hold. Be sure to specify South Campus Library as the location where you would like to pick up your book. Materials are usually delivered within 3 working days, provided they are not already checked out to another library patron.

The Library also offers access to an extensive collection of Electronic Books or E-Books.  Contents of an E-book can be viewed immediately online and many E-books can be downloaded to popular devices such as laptops, cell phones or tablets.

The easiest way to find E-Books is through the Library catalog.  E-Books can also be found via the library database, eBrary.

 

Library Databases

A good place to start your research is on the library website. You’ll find links here to a number of subscription databases provided by the Library. Databases include online encyclopedias, e-books and articles from magazines, newspapers and journals.

Magazines, Newspapers and Journals Encyclopedias and Reference

Periodical Databases provide access to articles from popular magazines, research journals, professional publications and newspapers.

General Periodical Databases:

Visit the library website, FIND > MAGAZINES, NEWSPAPERS AND SCHOLARLY JOURNALS for a complete list of periodicals and databases.

Reference Databases provide access to content and articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias, subject overviews or e-books. Reference sources provide reliable, quick, overview information with a neutral point-of-view.

General Reference Databases:

Many reference databases are subject or discipline specific. Visit the library website FIND > ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND REFERENCE for a complete list of reference databases.
 

Other Library Resources

Films on Demand

There are many ways to access videos outside of the Library such as on the Internet or via streaming video services.  However, if you are searching for high quality educational content, the Library offers access to Films on Demand, a subscription service, featuring a large collection of educational videos and video content.

The Films on Demand collections features a large variety of subject areas and content from producers such as American Experience, BBC, National Geographic, PBS and Ted Talks.

To access Films on Demand visit SSC Library Digital Reference A to Z, Films on Demand.

NoodleTools

NoodleTools is a student research tool for bibliographies, citations, note taking and outlining.  Students can use it alone or with a group to help with their research.

To access NoodleTools visit SSC Library Digital Reference A to Z, NoodleTools and create a free account.

 

AskUs!

Web Resources

You may find the following web sites and online tools helpful.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip