This is the "Home" page of the "Health and Wellness" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health and Wellness  

Finding information about medicine, health and wellness, and the Affordable Care Act (also known as Obamacare)
Last Updated: Feb 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.southseattle.edu/health Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books at the SSCC Library

Cover Art
Aging, but Never Old
Call Number: QP86.B57 2010
ISBN: 9780313380181

Cover Art
Remedy and Reaction
Call Number: RA395.A3S768 2011
ISBN: 9780300171099

Cover Art
The End of Illness
Call Number: RA776.5.A38 2011
ISBN: 9781451610192

Cover Art
Men's Health Concerns Sourcebook
Call Number: RA776.5.M457 2013
ISBN: 9780780810334

Cover Art
Our Bodies, Ourselves
Call Number: RA778.N49 2011
ISBN: 9781439190661

Cover Art
Autism Sourcebook
Call Number: RJ506.A9E97 2005
ISBN: 9780060799885

Online encyclopedias from the SSCC Library

  • Gale Virtual Reference
    An online library of reference titles covering multiple disciplines, including health, medicine and psychology.
  • Health and Wellness Resource Center
    A comprehensive site featuring information on diseases, medical conditions, drugs, herbal remedies and alternative medicine. Includes access to medical journals, general interest publications, hundreds of pamphlets and health-related videos.
  • Salem Reference
    Online encyclopedias from Salem Press including health, psychology and genetics.

Find more books

Search the Catalog

It's important to use good search vocabulary for searching the library catalog (and also databases and web sites).

KeywordsSubject Descriptors
stress Stress (Physiology)
stress symptoms Stress (Psychology)
burnout Burn out, Psychology (Prevention)
"stress reduction" Stress management
cognitive-behavioral therapy
stress inoculation training
stress AND "mind/body" Mind and body
stress AND body-mind
stress AND meditation
relaxation Relaxation
      

    Periodicals databases from the SSCC Library

    • Academic Search Premier
      A multi-disciplinary database with a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals. Coverage includes most academic subjects.
    • Health and Wellness Resource Center
      A comprehensive site featuring information on diseases, medical conditions, drugs, herbal remedies and alternative medicine. Includes access to medical journals, general interest publications, hundreds of pamphlets and health-related videos.
    • Health Reference Center Academic
      Peer-reviewed and research-based articles on health and medicine
    • ProQuest Databases
      A multidisciplinary resource, featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers and ebooks. Includes over 6000 titles, 75% of which are available in full text.
     

    An apple a day...

     

    Print periodicals at the SSCC Library

    Health

    Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

    Nutrition Action Health Letter

    Psychology Today

    Remember! There are many more health, medicine and wellness titles in the periodicals databases.

     

    AskUs!

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip