This is the "Home" page of the "Photography Class Library Orientation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Photography Class Library Orientation  

Library resources for photography students.
Last Updated: May 13, 2016 URL: http://libguides.southseattle.edu/photography Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Photography Books and Videos

The library catalog can help you find books and videos on photography. The call number for most items on this subject will begin with TR. You can also browse the physical TR section in the stacks.

  • Library Catalog
    Photographers
    Photography
    The call numbers for many of these books will start with TR.
 

My Favorite Photographer Biography

I recently read this biography about Edward Curtis. You can find this in the library. There is also a movie in the library collection about Edward Curtis. See below.

Cover Art
Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher - Timothy Egan
Call Number: TR140.C82E43 2012
ISBN: 0618969020
Publication Date: 2012-10-09


 

Photography Reference Books & Online Reference Sources

Gale Virtual Encyclopedia is an online reference source.

You can find photography encyclopedias in the reference section of the library under TR.

Cover Art
The Photography Encyclopedia - McDarrah, Gloria S.
Call Number: TR9.M39 1999
ISBN: 0028650255
Publication Date: 1998-12-01

 

Citing photos using MLA

  • Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting
    (Scroll down and look at A Painting, Sculpture, or Photograph)

  • NoodleTools
    You enter the information and it creates your bibliography
    (You need to set up your own account)

Databases

Films on Demand includes a section on photography under Art & Architecture. Academic Search Premier and Proquest are databases that can help you find articles.

Magazines and Journals

 The library has collections of physical magazines as well as online access to magazines.

Find periodicals

Below is a link to the National Geographic archive. From here you can look up photographs or look in the topic guides and look up photographers.

 

Good photography websites

Remember that photographs always have authors! Below is a handful of useful websites for finding photographs.

 

 

visit the library...

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kara Wiggert

Ask Me!

Profile Image
Randy Nelson
Contact Info
206.934.6405
Send Email

Ask Us!

 

      

    Research Resources

    • Find Books
      books, e-books, video and more from the Seattle Community Colleges collection
    • Find Periodicals
      thousands of magazines, newspapers and journals from dozens of specialized databases
    • Find Reference
      Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and overviews in all subject areas
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip