This is the "Home" page of the "Getting Started with Reference Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Getting Started with Reference Sources  

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.southseattle.edu/reference Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Get Started with Reference Sources

Just getting started on a new topic? Make reference sources your first stop. Reference sources are reliable, quick, overview information with a neutral point-of-view. Encyclopedia articles, subject overviews and introductory guides can be found in the links below.

  • A to Z--All Online Reference Sources
    Know what you need? Find it here.
  • General Reference
    Encyclopedias covering all topics are located here, as well as ebooks, standardized test study materials, career information, auto repair manuals, and citation tools. Check here for sources that might not be covered by other topic areas, including citation tools.
  • Art, Music and Literature
    Resources for music, literature, art, architecture, theater and dance.
  • Geography and World Cultures
    find CultureGrams, as well as Oxford series geographical and cultural encyclopedias. Also access Simply Map, a demographic finding tool.
  • Science and Health
    Find Access Science, which contains thousands of articles in natural sciences, life sciences and more. Also find other reference works on health and medicine, genetics, psychology, sexuality and evolution.
  • Social Sciences
    CQ Researcher, History in Context and Opposing Viewpoints are located here, as well as over a dozen encyclopedias on topics including education, religion, social work, business and various aspects of history.
 

Print Reference Collection

Don't forget: Not all reference titles are available online.  Visit the library to find hundreds of print reference titles like these:

Cover Art
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Biography

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change

Cover Art
Sports in America from Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century

Cover Art
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Love, Courtship, and Sexuality Through History

 

Reference Sources

c.crdotx/flickr

 

AskUs!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip